Governance

ARIA is governed by a steering committee with members from Australia's leading immunisation research institutions. The steering committee provides strategic leadership and is responsible for ensuring ARIA’s guiding principles underpin its work and that ARIA achieves its goals.

Steering committee

Title, Name and Organisation  Contact Details

Professor Kristine Macartney 
Chairperson of ARIA Steering Committee
Director, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)

kristine.macartney@health.nsw.gov.au

Executive Assistant: Karen Brooker
Karen.Brooker@health.nsw.gov.au 

Professor Ross Andrews
Australian National University
Research Fellow
 
ross.andrews@anu.edu.au
Dr Meru Sheel
Australian National University
Infectious Disease Epidemiologist
 
meru.sheel@anu.edu.au
Ms Lisa Davidson 
Burnet Institute
Co-head Global Health: policy, practice and community action
 
lisa.davidson@burnet.edu.au
Dr Chris Morgan 
JHPIEGO 
Honorary Senior Principal Research Fellow - Burnet institute
Senior Technical Advisor (Immunization) - JHPIEGO
 
christopher.morgan@jhpiego.org 
0414 761 959
 
Professor John Kaldor
Kirby Institute, the University of New South Wales
Senior Principal Research Fellow
 

jkaldor@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Executive Assistant: Pratiksha Bhatt
pbhatt@kirby.unsw.edu.au 

Dr Joshua Francis
Menzies School of Health Research
Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist and Clinical Fellow
 
josh.francis@menzies.edu.au
0423 528 381
 
Associate Professor Margie Danchin 
Murdoch Children's Research Institute
Team Leader/Honorary Fellow Manager, Infection and immunity
 

Margie.Danchin@rch.org.au

Executive Assistant: Haset Samuel
haset.samuel@mcri.edu.au

Professor Julie Bines
Murdoch Children's Research Institute
Leader, RV3 Vaccine Program, Intestinal Failure & Clinical Nutrition Group
 
jebines@unimelb.edu.au
0409 350 131
 
Associate Professor Christopher Blyth
Telethon Kids Institute
Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist and Research Fellow
 

christopher.blyth@uwa.edu.au 
0418 827 009

Executive Assistant: Hannah Mcalindon
hannah.mcalindon@telethonkids.org.au 

Professor David Durrheim
University of Newcastle
 

David.Durrheim@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au

Executive Assistant: Christine Fraser
christine.fraser@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au 

Professor Julie Leask
University of Sydney
Senior Research Fellow
 
julie.leask@sydney.edu.au
Peter Richmond
University of Western Australia - Telethon Kids Institute
 

peter.richmond@uwa.edu.au 

Executive Assistant: Karen Mitchell
karen.mitchell@uwa.edu.au 

 

Funding

The National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS) provided financial support for the establishment of ARIA, with ARIA members and their organisations providing in-kind contributions. Ongoing costs for the ARIA secretariat are contributed to in various ways, including funding from NCIRS, in-kind contributions from ARIA member organisations and donor funding. To ensure sustainability of ARIA, additional funding will be sourced from donors and potentially from philanthropic sources.

ARIA also receives multi-year funding support from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade through its Indo-Pacific Centre for Health Security.

logo

          

Last updated July 2021